Keep Lee County Beautiful Hosts 31st Annual Calendar Art Awards | News, Sports, Jobs


The calendar cover of Nicole Sierra-Iszler, a freshman at Estero High School, for 2022. PHOTO PROVIDED

Beautiful recently hosted its 31st Annual Keep Lee County Beautiful Inc. “Leave the stage clean” Calendar Awards Ceremony at the Broadway Palm Dinner Theater. The competition attracted hundreds of entries from local students, representing public, private and home schools in Lee County.

The submitted work was judged on artistic execution and originality as well as an environmental theme, such as waste prevention, recycling, community clean-up and environmental protection.

The 12 selections for first place, one from each year 1 through 12, in addition to the cover winner, will be featured in the full-color KLCB 2022 “Leave the stage clean” Calendar. Honorable mentions in each class were also selected. The awards ceremony included an exhibition of the winning artwork and the publication of the 2022 calendar. Each of the top 12 winners received a prize of $ 50, except for the 12th grade winners and blanket received a $ 500 scholarship offered by Covanta Energy.

Each calendar month contains a different student artwork. The back cover features an environmental message from Estero High School student Nicole Sierra-Iszler, the winner of the cover.

Grade 3 student Genesis McCarthy of Pine Island Elementary received an honorable mention.

These popular color calendars can be obtained for a donation of $ 3 each and are available from participating schools in Lee County, who keep any profits raised with funds used to pay for environmental projects at the participating school. Email [email protected] to find out how to request a schedule.

The calendar project is made possible thanks to corporate sponsorship.


Cover Winner: Nicole Sierra-Iszler – Estero High School – Grade 9

Category 1 first place winner: Brody Odom – North Fort Myers Academy of the Arts

Category 2 first place winner: Parker Purslow – Gateway Elementary School

Honorable mentions: Scarlett Holdaway – North Fort Myers Academy of the Arts; Julia Perez – Gateway Elementary School

Honorable mention in 3rd year: Genesis McCarthy – Pine Island Elementary School

4th year first place winner: Jaxon Mohr – North Fort Myers Academy of the Arts

Honorable mentions: Raquel Mejia – Tanglewood Elementary; Hans Mesamours – Gateway Elementary; Landon Parker – Gateway Elementary School

5th year first place winner: Kelley Kenner – Tanglewood Elementary School

Honorable mentions: Emily Rosales – Gateway Elementary; Brodey Solomon – River Hall Elementary School; Hannah Walsh – Gateway Elementary School

First place winner in 6th year: Elizaveth Martinez – Veterans Park Academy of Arts

Honorable mentions: Brooklynn Blusiewicz РOasis College; Alexis Davis РPaul Laurence Dunbar Middle; Sophyr F̩nelon РVeteran Park Academy for the Arts

Grade 7 First Place Winner: Jaden Chason – North Fort Myers Academy of the Arts

Honorable mentions: Daphanie Welsher – North Fort Myers Academy of the Arts; Lorena Huang – Bonita Springs Middle Center for the Arts

Grade 8 First Place Winner: Sophia P̩rez РGulf College

Honorable mentions: Jocelyn Roach – North Fort Myers Academy of the Arts; Jocelyn Roach – North Fort Myers Academy of the Arts; Melinda Castro – Lexington College

First place winner in grade 9: Amy Le-Hoang – Cypress Lake High School

Honorable mentions: Gabriela Kat Martinez – Estero High School; Jamison Albertorio-Acevedo – Cypress Lake High School; Zachary Yoshida – Cypress Lake High School

Grade 10 First Place Winner: Alayna Calkins – Cypress Lake High School

Honorable mentions: Haley Allensworth – Cypress Lake High School; Ray Martorella – Cypress Lake High School; Erin Bruns – Estero High School

First place winner in grade 11: Erica Fort – Estero High School

Honorable mentions: McKenzie Donahue – Cypress Lake High School; Kaitlyn Logue – Cypress Lake High School; Heidi Hernandez – Cypress Lake High School

First place winner in grade 12: Wolfe Enmon – North Fort Myers High School

Honorable mentions: Bianca Falcon – North Fort Myers High School; Olivia Bevillard – Cypress Lake High School; Emmarose Roazen – North Fort Myers High School

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.