2021 Indianapolis Awards Gala Celebrates World-Class Animal Rights Advocates


Awards program celebrates expansion with New Emerging Environmentalists Award

INDIANAPOLIS, September 25, 2021 / PRNewswire / – The Indianapolis Prize – the world’s largest animal conservation award – celebrated the world’s foremost animal conservation advocates at the Indianapolis Prize gala presented by Cummins Inc.

Dr. Amanda vincent, the 2021 recipient and eighth recipient of the award, which is awarded biennially by the Indianapolis Zoological Society, received a $ 250,000 grant – the largest unrestricted monetary award given for the successful conservation of endangered or threatened species. Ocean ecologist and Sovereign Prince of Monaco His Serene Highness Prince Albert II received the 2021 Jane Alexander Global Wildlife Ambassador Award.

“Tonight, we celebrate the victories of the world’s leading environmentalists whose work to save species has an undeniable impact on the wild things and wild places on our planet,” said Dr. Rob shumaker, President and CEO of the Indianapolis Zoological Society, Inc. “It is an honor to recognize these heroes and hope their stories inspire action to protect our planet and all who inhabit it.”

Dr Vincent is a professor at the Institute of Oceans and Fisheries at The University of British Columbia, where she runs Project Seahorse. Vincent is considered the first biologist to study seahorses in the wild, document their extensive trade, and establish a seahorse conservation project.

Vincent has dedicated his career to defending seahorses and is credited with drawing the world’s attention to the 44 known species of seahorses and developing an effective approach to their conservation. With unwavering dedication to conservation, Vincent has generated 35 Marine Protected Areas – dedicated areas of the ocean where fishing is not permitted – where populations of seahorses and other marine species thrive.

“It is a great honor to be named the recipient of the Indianapolis 2021 Prize. This prestigious global award enables me to advocate for much greater attention to the ocean – which represents 99% of living space on Earth – and all the species the marine ecosystem depends on. From a seahorse perspective, we have inspired many, many people around the world to protect ocean life. The Indianapolis Prize now gives us a platform even broader to invite and empower people to take meaningful conservation action. “

Vincent was selected from a group of six finalists by a jury made up of eminent scientists and conservation leaders. The finalists are: Dr. Christophe Boesch (Wild Chimpanzee Foundation); Dr P. Dee Boersma (Washington University and Center for Ecosystem Sentinels); Dr. Sylvie Earle (Mission Blue and Deepwater Exploration and Research); Dr. Gerardo Ceballos (Institute of Ecology of National Autonomous University of Mexico); and dr. John robinson (Wildlife Conservation Society). Each finalist received $ 10,000.

At the gala, HSH Prince Albert II received the Jane Alexander Global Wildlife Ambassador Award for his dedication to preserving the world’s oceans. Receiving the award on behalf of His Serene Highness, the President of the Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation, John B. Kelly II.

“I am extremely honored to receive such an important award, a truly important award in the field of animal conservation,” said HSH. Prince Albert II. “Allow me to take this award as a further encouragement to continue my action and to stay true to my convictions. It will help me to keep my commitments and my contributions to the preservation of the oceans, to the conservation of coral reefs and areas. marine protected, and we strive to protect endangered marine species. “

An exciting new initiative from the Indianapolis Prize program was also announced during the evening program. The Emerging Environmentalists Award – made possible by a grant from the Sidekick Foundation – is a biennial award that recognizes environmentalists under the age of 40 who are beginning to make significant progress in saving an animal species or group of species. Nominations for this award will be accepted on September 27, 2021 through February 25, 2022. The inauguration Emerging Environmentalists Award to be presented at the 2023 Indianapolis Prize Gala downtown Indianapolis. To learn more about this exciting new award, visit IndianapolisPrize.org/emergingconservationist.

The Indianapolis Prize Gala was hosted by NBC News Chief Environmental Affairs Correspondent Anne thomson and ocean activist and science communicator, Danni washington. The gala puts an international spotlight on conservation heroes who share their stories and inspire members of the public to Take a step forward for the survival of species.

A story of the Indianapolis Prize winners
The Indianapolis Prize was first awarded in 2006 to Dr. Georges archibald, the co-founder of the International Crane Foundation. The 2008 winner was Georges schaller, Ph.D., known as one of the founding fathers of wildlife conservation, and both senior ecologist for the Wildlife Conservation Society and vice president of Panthera. In 2010, Iain Douglas Hamilton, Ph.D., founder of Save the Elephants, received the award for his pioneering research into the social behavior of elephants and for leading the way in the fight against African elephant poaching. Steven amstrup, Ph.D., Chief Scientist of Polar Bears International, received the 2012 award for his work on the world’s largest terrestrial carnivore. In 2014, Dr. Patricia C. wright, founder of Center ValBio, became the first woman to receive the Indianapolis Prize for her dedication to savings from Madagascar famous extinct lemurs. Dr. Carl Jones received the 2016 Indianapolis Award for its success in recovering species on the island of Mauritius, including the echo parakeet, pink pigeon and Mauritius kestrel. Russ mittermeier, Ph.D., Conservation Officer of Re: wild, won the 2018 award for championing the concept of biodiversity hotspots and protecting endemic species that depend on these critical habitats. Dr. Amanda vincent, co-founder of Project Seahorse and professor at the Institute of Oceans and Fisheries at The University of British Columbia became the first marine ecologist to win the award in 2021 for her work on seahorse ecology and conservation.

The Indianapolis Award recognizes and rewards environmentalists who have achieved major victories in promoting the sustainability of an animal species or group of species. Winners receive a $ 250,000 price. The remaining finalists each receive $ 10,000. Since 2006, the Indianapolis Prize has administered over $ 1.3 million into unrestricted cash rewards. The Indianapolis Prize is a signature curatorial initiative of the Indianapolis Zoological Society, Inc.

Photos and videos of the VIP reception will be available through this connect through 9 p.m. ET. Other images accompanying this story are available for download from the Indianapolis Prize website. here. Connect with the price on Facebook and Twitter.

SOURCE Indianapolis Award

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.